Harriers Head to Madison
Blair Doney will get her second shot at the Wisconsin Adidas Invite after running in the race last season.

Oct. 11, 2012

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. - The Purdue cross country teams will have their biggest tests of the season as they travel to Wisconsin for the Adidas Invitational. The Badgers will host 46 men’s and 49 women’s teams for Friday’s races.

Purdue will send 12 men and 14 women to the invitational, though only seven from each squad can run in the championship races. Matthew McClintock will lead the men’s squad into the 8,000-meter race. The freshman has finished first for the team in all three races this season including two top overall finishes. Johnnie Guy is also in the championships race for Purdue. The rookie has finished second for the Boilermakers in all three races.

Caleb Kerr has finished third for the team in all three races and will make the trip. Kerr has posted two top 10 overall finishes on the season in his freshman year. Seven of Purdue’s 12 men in the race are freshmen and nine of the runners are in their first year with the team.

Arizona, Arizona State, Iona, UCLA, Stanford, Texas, and Washington are among the national teams that will be on hand for Friday’s race. All 11 teams from the Big Ten, Northwestern does not have a men’s program, will also be on hand.

On the women’s side, Sam Walkow will be back to lead the Boilermakers. The women’s team finished fifth at the Sean Earl Lakefront Invite two weeks ago without Walkow in the lineup. Blair Doney, Dana Payonk, and Linsey Daluga will also be in Purdue’s lineup. The three have been among the top five finishers for the Boilermakers all season including a number of top 10 overall finishes.

The women’s 6,000-meter race will be the first time the Purdue ladies have run that distance this season. The previous three races have been 5,000-meters. The women’s field is the same as the men’s with a few additions. Northwestern will also compete on the women’s side to complete the 12 team Big Ten field.



Wisconsin won the men’s meet last season while Washington took the top spot on the women’s side. The Boilermaker men finished 37th in 2011, though none of last year’s runners are competing on Friday. The Purdue women took 40th last season. Kelly McCurdy took the top spot among returning Boilermakers, and will run in the championship race on Friday. Payonk, Doney, and Daluga also competed in 2011.

The women’s championship race will begin at noon CT while the men’s race is scheduled to follow at 12:40 p.m. The ‘B’ races will begin at 1:20 and 2 p.m. for the women and men, respectively. 


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago