Boilers Run Four Top-Five Program Marks on Meyo Day One
Raheem Mostert ran the top time in the 60m semifinals, and improved upon his fifth-place time in Purdue history.

Feb. 8, 2014

Day 1 Results

SOUTH BEND, Ind. - The Purdue track and field teams opened up the Meyo Invitational on Friday afternoon and the Boilermakers set several personal records, as well as some of the top times in program history. Twyla Winfrey highlighted that group, as the sophomore ran the second-fastest 60m dash time in program history.

Winfrey was one of three Boilermakers to compete in the 60m dash. She took fourth in the prelims with a time of 7.57 seconds, a personal record by 0.01 of a second, good enough to move her on to the finals. Teammate Devynne Charlton finished just behind Winfrey, as she crossed the line in 7.59 seconds and also advanced. Charlton’s time is tied for the sixth-best in Purdue history. In the semis, Winfrey turned in the best performance of her career and the second best by a Purdue woman, as she finished third with a time of 7.50 seconds. That time is just 0.09 of a second behind the school record, held by Sybil Perry since 1983. Winfrey and Charlton both advance to Saturday’s finals, with Charlton grabbing the final spot by 0.002 of a second.

Charlton also had a nice day in the hurdles. The freshman ran a time of 8.55 seconds in the prelims, a time that moved her into fifth place in all-time Purdue history. Ciana Tabb ran a solid race and posted a time of 8.65 seconds to finish seventh in the prelims and advance to the semis. Cierra Brown posted a time of 8.70 seconds to finish ninth and advance. In the semis, Tabb missed her PR by 0.03 of a second, as she posted a fourth-place time of 8.46 seconds. Charlton bettered her PR in the semis by running a time of 8.47 seconds. That moved her up to a tie for fourth in program history. She and Tabb advanced to the finals, while Brown ran a time of 8.65 seconds, but missed by four spots.

BreAnna Smith was just off the program record in the 500m as the senior was the top finisher in the event. Smith ran a time of 1:13.23 as she pulled away from the rest of the field to win by just under two seconds. Smith missed the Purdue record by 0.85 of a second, a record that has stood since 1987.

Blair Doney had a career day in the 5,000-meter run and set a 30-second PR. Doney finished fifth overall with a time of 16:44.15. Linsey Daluga also had a huge PR in the event as she broke the 17 minute mark for the first time in her career. Daluga finished ninth with a time of 16:56.85, a PR by more than 20 seconds.

The women’s distance medley relay team of Dana Payonk, Aarin Jones, Kari Shoolbraid and Katie Hoevet held the lead for much of Friday’s race, but eventually came up just short. The Purdue team ran a time of 11:33.52, which is just one tenth of a second off of last year’s second best. The Hoosiers out-legged the Boilermakers down the stretch to win the race with a time of 11:30.14. The Boilermakers finished nearly seven second ahead of third place.

On the men’s side, Jake Waterman and Raheem Mostert turned in top-five times in Purdue history. Waterman ran an incredible 5,000-meter race and finished with a time of 14:16.37 to edge Matthew McClintock’s third-place time in program history from last year. Waterman’s time currently ranks seventh in the country and second in the Big Ten. Mostert competed in the 60m dash prelims and semis. He won his heat of the prelim, and finished second overall, with a time of 6.80 seconds. In the semis, Mostert broke his PR of 6.76 seconds, which he set in 2012, with a time of 6.75 seconds. The time won him his heat and it was the top overall time in the semis. Mostert’s time improves upon his fifth-place time in program lore. He will compete in the finals on Saturday.

Chris Arvia and Kendal Frederick just missed the Purdue top five in the 500m race. Arvia finished fifth with a time of 1:04.73, while Frederick was sixth with a time of 1:04.76. Arvia’s time ranks sixth in Purdue history, while Frederick’s is seventh. They are the first Boilermakers to add to the list since 1990 when Phil Jefferson set the school record with a time of 1:03.05.

Kevin Handshoe and Danny Williams each won his heat of the 1,000-meter run. Williams ran a time of 2:29.06 to win heat one, while Handshoe finished in 2:27.91 to win heat two. Handshoe finished fifth overall with his time that is less than a second outside the Purdue top five.

Brandon Winters won the men’s 60m hurdles prelims with a time of 7.97 seconds. Andre’ Peart also qualified for the semis, after posting a time of 8.22 seconds to win heat four.  Winters then finished with the top time in the semifinals with a time of 7.94 seconds. Peart improved upon his prelim time and posted a 8.10 seconds time to grab the final spot in Saturday’s finals.

The Boilermakers dominated the men’s DMR and led from the get-go. The team of Dillon Hinen, Andrew Kendrick, Kevin Griffith and Dan Porter pulled away from the field before the first exchange and cruised to a winning time of 9:55.61. That time won by more than eight seconds.

The Boilermakers return to action at 10 a.m. ET Saturday morning. The team will wrap up several finals, as well as compete in remaining events, such as the 400m dash. Live results can be found on and Twitter @PurdueTrackXC.




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago