Second-Annual Golden Pete Awards Winners Announced
Matt Friede, along with Casey Matthews, were named the winners of the Big Ten Medal of Honor.

April 27, 2014

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. - Lighthearted fun and golden Purdue Pete statues were the order of the night as the second-annual Golden Pete Awards was held Sunday in Loeb Playhouse on campus.

The event was hosted by former women's basketball player Natalia Bogdanova and former football player Stuart Schweigert and featured awards such as Breakout of the Year, Team Performance for a single event and season, Comeback of the Year, Coach of the Year as well as a whole host of others. The award winners were voted on by their fellow student-athletes via text.

The prestigious Big Ten Medal of Honor winners were men's swimmer Matt Friede and women's diver Casey Matthews. Presented for the 100th time, the Big Ten Medal of Honor is the conference's most exclusive award. It recognizes a graduating male and female student-athlete from all 12 member institutions for academic and athletic excellence

Friede is a three-time NCAA Championships qualifier with Purdue's freestyle relay teams. He will graduate next month as part of the school record-holding teams in the 200 and 400 free relays. He also established a new Purdue freshman record in the 50 free in 2011 and ranks among the program's all-time Top 10 in the 50, 100 and 200 free. The three-time Academic All-Big Ten student-athlete has compiled a 3.57 GPA while majoring in computer engineering.

Matthews is an NCAA and Big Ten champion diver. The four-time NCAA Championships qualifier is a five-time All-American, highlighted by a 2013 national title in 3-meter diving that was the first title in the history of Purdue women's swimming and diving. As a senior this year, she won the Big Ten title in 1-meter diving, the Boilers' first conference crown since 2009. She was named the Big Ten Diver of the Championships after taking home Purdue Female Athlete of the Year honors in 2012-13. Matthews has overcome multiple shoulder and ankle injuries during her career. She is a four-time Academic All-Big Ten honoree with a 3.64 grade-point average who will graduate in May with a degree in public relations and rhetorical advocacy.



Golden Pete Awards
Breakout of the Year - Raheem Mostert, Track and Field - Won Big Ten Indoor Championships in the 60m and 200m dash.

Spark Plug Award (presented to student-athlete who ignites their team) - Carly Cramer, Women's Volleyball

Varsity Walk Award - Courtney Moses, Women's Basketball

Coach of the Year Award - Lonnie Greene, Men's and Women's Track and Field

Comeback of the Year Award - Women's Basketball vs. Iowa - Overcame a 16-point deficit.

Individual Performance, Single Event - Dani Bunch, Women's Track and Field - Third in the shot put and fifth in the hammer throw at NCAA Championships

Individual Performance, Season (Male) - Chukwuebuka Enekwechi, Track and Field

Individual Performance, Season (Female) - Courtney Moses, Basketball

Team Performance, Single Event - Women's Volleyball - Best undefeated Missouri in the NCAA Tournament

Team Performance, Season - Men's and Women's Track and Field.

The men's swimming and diving team aslo took home the award for the best team video.

Also recognized at the awards were the founding student-athletes of Boiler-Maker Wish, student fan groups and athletics department student workers, Distinguished Scholar Athletes and the John Wooden Leadership Award.