Boilermakers Back In Action
Aug. 20, 2017

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. - Purdue student-athletes, coaches and administrators gathered Sunday at Holloway Gymnasium for Boilermakers Back in Action in advance of the start of the 2017 fall semester tomorrow. The event is put on by the executive board of the Boiler Student-Athlete Advisory Committee and the John R. Wooden Leadership Institute.

The annual kickoff to the school year brings together all 18 sport programs (17 this year with men’s basketball at the World University Games in Taipei) for a “team meeting” and pep rally. Interim provost Jay T. Akridge and athletics director Mike Bobinski addressed the group. There also was an introductory session for freshmen and transfer student-athletes.

“Let no one define us or set limits on what we can or should accomplish,” said Bobinski, who presided over his first Boilermakers Back in Action. “Have the courage to set higher expectations for yourself and your teammates - academically, athletically and socially - and believe in yourself and in your ability to reach them. Represent Purdue, your team and yourself with confidence and just the right dose of swagger. That is who we can, should and will be at Purdue.”

In addition, a number of awards were presented to recognize individual and team success athletically, academically and in the community.

The 25/85 Award recognizes those teams that earn points in the Directors’ Cup and exceed their cumulative grade-point average goal. Eight teams achieved the honor for 2016-17: women’s basketball, men’s golf, women’s golf, men’s swimming & diving, women’s swimming & diving, men’s tennis, women’s track & field, and volleyball.

The President’s Cup is given to the team with the highest grade-point average from the previous semester. Women’s cross country won the award for the second straight year with a combined GPA of 3.47 from the spring semester. Women’s tennis received the Provost’s Award, which is given to the program with the most improved GPA from the previous semester.

Eleven student-athletes received the Ben Korschot Perseverance Award, named for a former football walkon and given to individuals who began their careers as walkons and went on to earn scholarships and have an impact on their team. Recipients were Abby Abel (women’s basketball), Tanner Andrews (baseball), Athell Bennett (men’s tennis), Morgan Cavinder (softball), Carissa Damler (volleyball), Kaitlynn Moody (softball), Hannah Mussallem (soccer), Emmy Rawson (women’s swimming), Jackie Smailis (women’s swimming), Bijay Stephens (men’s track & field) and Lexi Vincent (women’s diving).

The Durham Brothers Leadership Award, established by former football players John and Bull Durham, also was presented. The award recognizes underclassmen who have exhibited outstanding leadership both on and off the field through positive attitude, strong work ethic and overall commitment to excellence. Twenty-four student-athletes were honored: Erika Beeler (softball), Symone Black (women’s track & field), David Blough (football), Savannah Carson (women’s track & field), Alex Close (men’s swimming), Carmiesha Cox (women’s track & field), Malcolm Dotson (men’s track & field), Carsen Edwards (men’s basketball), Micaela Farah (women’s golf), Cady Farlow (women’s swimming), Timmy Hildebrand (men’s golf), Skyler Hunter (baseball), Nora Kiesler (women’s basketball), Stephan Koenigsfest (men’s tennis), Sarah Loesch (women’s track & field), Shawndail McLaren (men’s track & field), Janae' Moffitt (women’s track & field), Blake Mohler (volleyball), Brady Riley (soccer), Savannah Roberson (women’s track & field), Gareth Stroh (baseball), Justin Veteto (men’s track & field), Jarle Volden (men’s golf) and Kyle Webb (men’s track & field).


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago