Golden Pete Awards Finalists Revealed
April 13, 2017

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. - The anticipation is building for another entertaining evening.

The fifth-annual Golden Pete Awards show is Monday, April 24, beginning at 6:30 p.m. ET. Doors to the historic Loeb Playhouse on campus open at 6 p.m.

This year's co-hosts for the artful blend of accomplishment and fun, celebrating the achievements of Boilermaker student-athletes, are two current student-athletes, junior football player Race Johnson and junior track athlete Brionna Thomas.

In addition to presenting traditional honors like the Big Ten Medal of Honor, Distinguished Scholar Athlete Award, Varsity Walk Award, Wooden Leadership Institute Certificate of Achievement and BLAST Certificate of Achievement, Golden Petes will be presented in the following nine categories (with the finalists for each award listed):

Male Newcomer of the Year: Christian Brunner, wrestling; Jaret Carpenter, cross country; Carsen Edwards, basketball; Brandon Loschiavo, diving

Female Newcomer of the Year: Chloe Abbott, track & field; Emma Benner, cross country; Emily Meaney, diving; Dominique Oden, basketball

Coach of the Year: Lonnie Greene, track & field; Matt Painter, men's basketball; Adam Soldati, diving; Sharon Versyp, women's basketball

Male Individual Performance, Single Event: Marat Amaltdinov, swimming, at Big Ten Championships (won 200 breaststroke); David Blough, football, 458 passing yards and five touchdowns vs. Iowa; Steele Johnson, diving, at NCAA Championships (two national titles and a runner-up finish); Caleb Swanigan, basketball, 25 points, 17 rebounds and three assists in win vs. Michigan State

Female Individual Performance, Single Event: Emma Benner, cross country, at Big Ten Championships (finished sixth and was Big Ten Freshman of the Year); Devynne Charlton, track & field, at Big Ten Indoor Championships (won 60-meter dash and 60-meter hurdles, second in 200 meters); August Kim, golf, winning Big Ten championship; Azariah Stahl, volleyball, 15 kills and 19 digs in upset of fourth-ranked Kansas

Male Performance of the Year: Marat Amaltdinov, swimming; David Blough, football; Steele Johnson, diving; Gergely Madarasz, tennis; Caleb Swanigan, basketball

Female Performance of the Year: Devynne Charlton, track & field; Danielle Cuttino, volleyball; August Kim, golf; Emily Meaney, diving; Ashley Morrissette, basketball

Team Performance, Single Event: men's basketball coming from behind to win at No. 17 Maryland, women's basketball upsetting top-seeded and No. 9-ranked Ohio State at Big Ten Tournament; women's track & field second place at Big Ten Indoor Championships; volleyball upset of No. 9 and eventual national champion Stanford on the road

Team of the Year: men's basketball, women's basketball, men's swimming & diving, women's track & field, volleyball

The audience will help pick the winners of the Male Performance of the Year, Female Performance of the Year and Team of the Year via text voting after watching video highlights of the finalists. The other winners will be determined by an online survey sent to Purdue student-athletes and athletics department staff members.

The Boiler Up Award will be presented for the first time to the Purdue Athletics team that has demonstrated the most spirit and support for other squads.

The Big Ten Medal of Honor is the conference's most exclusive award. It was the first of its kind in intercollegiate athletics to recognize academic and athletic excellence and is awarded to one male and female student-athlete from the graduating class of each member institution.

A countdown of the top 10 plays of the year will be highlighted throughout the festivities.

The Golden Pete Awards show also serves as a senior sendoff to Purdue student-athletes.

The Golden Pete Awards show is hosted by the John Purdue Club and the Varsity P Club, and it is exclusive to their members. The deadline to RSVP is April 17, and members may do so by calling 765.494.3248 or by clicking here. Attire for the event is dressy casual.

The gold carpet is ready to be rolled out.


  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago